Barbara Bush Foundation Announces New Technology Advisory Council

The Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy announced today at its first-ever National Summit on Adult Literacy a new Technology Advisory Council (TAC), which is dedicated to fostering innovation in the field of adult literacy. The council, comprised of a diverse group of innovators that includes Silicon Valley leaders, venture capitalists, industry trailblazers, and some of the nation’s top philanthropies and non-profits, will support and advise the Foundation in its use of technological and digital tools to serve adult learners.

“When it comes to moving the needle on equity and literacy, technology and innovation are critical,” said British A. Robinson, president and CEO of the Barbara Bush Foundation. “The council is made up of rock stars of the tech world, and I know that the Foundation and the adult literacy community more broadly will benefit immensely from their feedback and insights as we integrate technology into our work to transform the lives of adults who are struggling.”

The council will help amplify the Foundation’s technological efforts and tools for adult learners; incubate new initiatives or programs related to technology; and provide counsel and support for grants, programs and partnerships. Founding members include:

  • Charles Dages, Entertainment Executive; Chairman, Board of Trustees, National Academy of
  • Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS, retired)
  • David Dean, CEO and Founder, DGDean LLC
  • Arlan Hamilton, Founder and Managing Partner, Backstage Capital
  • Shannon Lucas, Former Executive Vice President, Ericsson
  • Kimberly Marshall, Innovation Investor, Tech Advisor
  • Erin Mote, Executive Director and Co-Founder of InnovateEDU
  • Shelley Peterson, Principal Investigator, Augmented & Mixed Reality, Lockheed Martin
  • Kirby Salerno, Founder & Principal of BroadReach EdTech Advisors
Press Inquiries

If you’re a member of the media or would like more information, you can reach Lauren Sproull, Vice President of Communications, at 850.562.5300 or