Sign up for updates

Jump to page:

Celebration of Reading in Dallas/Ft. Worth

Date: Coming soon

Location: Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas, Texas

Author Information Celebration Committee Photo Gallery Schedule of Events Sponsorship Information Student Essay Contest
Share this:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

The Barbara Bush Foundation invites you to join us as we celebrate the 16th annual Celebration of Reading Dallas/Fort Worth. Featuring guest appearances by members of the Bush family and New York Times best-selling authors, the event features a private, intimate luncheon and VIP reception with guest authors, and the always-entertaining reading program followed by dinner. Throughout the Celebration, you can expect to be entertained by a lineup of engaging authors reading from their most recent works, inspired by a transformational testimony of the impact the Foundation is making in North Texas, and empowered to be an advocate for literacy in your community.

Funds raised from the annual Celebration of Reading help support family literacy programs of the Barbara Bush Foundation, including Teen Trendsetters™, an anchor program of the organization that pairs teen mentors with first, second or third grade students who are, on average, six months behind in reading. The Foundation currently offers 20 family literacy programs serving more than 700 students and families in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.

Thank you for your support of the Celebration of Reading Dallas/Fort Worth.

November 7, 2017

Noon Celebration Luncheon with Guest Authors and
Top Sponsors (Silver Sponsors & Higher)
5:30 – 6:30 p.m VIP Author’s Reception (Patron Sponsors & Higher)
Meyerson Symphony Center – Horchow Hall
6 p.m. Celebration Reception (All ticket holders)
Meyerson Symphony Center – Lower Lobby
7 – 8:30 p.m. Celebration of Reading Program (All ticket holders)
Meyerson Symphony Center – Concert Hall
8:30 p.m. Celebration of Reading Dinner
($250 individual tickets; all sponsors)
Meyerson Symphony Center – Main Lobby
9 p.m. Guest Author Book Signing
Meyerson Symphony Center – Lower Lobby

Author Information

Share this:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Thank you to our 2017 guest authors! 

Leigh Anne Tuohy
Dubbed a “warrior princess” by author Michael Lewis in his best-selling book The Blind Side, Leigh Anne is the inspirational matriarch of the Tuohy family. A Memphis, Tennessee native, Leigh Anne graduated from the University of Mississippi with a bachelor’s degree in interior design. There, Leigh Anne met Sean Tuohy, her husband of 31 years. Leigh Anne owns “Flair I,” an interior design firm with her mother and partner, Virginia Roberts. Her work has been featured on HGTV and in numerous publications. She has designed for such clients as Peyton Manning, Scottie Pippen, Isaac Bruce, and OJ Mayo, and was a member of the design team for Extreme Makeover: Home Edition during the 2010-11 season. Years after The Blind Side burst onto the scene, breaking box office records and inspiring individuals nationwide, Leigh Anne continues to make an impact. In July 2010, she and her husband, Sean, released the New York Times best-seller, In a Heartbeat: Sharing the Power of Cheerful Giving, and established their charity. Through all of their projects, the Tuohy family continues their mission to inspire hope, ignite generosity, and make it happen for the deserving, but underserved youth.


Kristin Hannah
Kristin Hannah is the New York Times best-selling author of more than twenty novels, including her international blockbuster The Nightingale, which was awarded the coveted Goodreads and People’s Choice Awards and named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon. Her other novels include Winter Garden, Night Road and Firefly Lane. A former lawyer turned writer, she is the mother of one son and lives with her husband in the Pacific Northwest and Hawaii.


Mary Pope Osborne
Mary Pope Osborne is an ardent advocate and supporter of child literacy, and the award-winning author of more than 100 books for children and young adults, including novels, retellings of mythology and folklore, picture books, biographies, mysteries, and the phenomenally best-selling Magic Tree House series. From 1993 to 1997, Osborne served as president of the Authors Guild, the country’s leading organization for published authors. She has traveled extensively in the U.S. and abroad, visiting schools and speaking on issues related to children’s literacy.


Ron Hall
Ron Hall is an international art dealer and the writer of the best-seller, Same Kind of Different as Me. Inspired by the true story of Hall’s life-changing encounter with a homeless man, the book was featured on the New York Times list for more than three years, and will debut this October as a major motion picture starring Renée Zellweger, Djimon Hounsou, Jon Voight and Greg Kinnear. In connection with his travels across the nation raising awareness and funds for the homeless, Hall has received numerous awards and recognitions. In 2007, President George W. Bush appointed him to the State Department Cultural Property Committee to advise on diplomatic matters regarding international art and antiquities. A graduate of Texas Christian University, he was recently named the 2017 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award.


Share this:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn


Sponsorship Information

The Celebration of Reading event helps raise both awareness and funds to support the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy, which is dedicated to establishing literacy as a value in every home in America. The Foundation funds the development of innovative family literacy programs in which parents and their children learn and read together.

Celebration Committee

Share this:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Thank you to our 2017 Host Committee!

Millie Cooper and Angela Cooper

Honorary Chair: Mrs. Laura W. Bush

Event Co-Chairs: Dr. Kenneth & Millie Cooper, Dr. Tyler & Angela Cooper

Committee Members

  • Kelly & Todd Abernathy
  • Allie Beth & Pierce Allman
  • Emy Lou & Jerry Baldridge
  • Penny & David Cook
  • Brill Garrett
  • Judith Gass
  • Michelle Staubach Grimes
  • Gary Huddleston
  • Caroline Rose Hunt
  • Tavia & Clark Hunt
  • Betsy & Scott Matheson
  • Meredith & Matt Mosley
  • Kit T. & Charlie B. Moncrief
  • Heidi & Victor Nilson
  • Nena Madonia Oshman
  • Delia Johnson Prine
  • Gail & Scott Rolseth
  • Shelly Slater
  • Marianne & Roger Staubach

Get in Touch

You may also contact us by phone at 850.562.5300 or by mail at:
Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy
516 North Adams Street • Tallahassee, Florida 32301